Why Schools of Specialisation?

Initially a Technical High school, John Orr was gazetted as a School of Specialisation with 813 learners and 63 staff members by the Gauteng Provincial Government on 22 August 2022. At the unveiling ceremony, then Gauteng Education MEC Mr Panyaza Lesufi, said the provincial government was changing the education landscape and investing in critical skills needed for the country.

With its focus on renewable energy and alternative sources of energy, John Orr Engineering School of Specialisation is leading the way in changing the education system in the province. 

"Gone are the days where our education system is deemed inferior because we are providing access to quality education through Schools of Specialisation," said Lesufi.

"We are all here for one thing... to defeat unemployment and poverty. We are here to plan for the future. We want everything that is going to happen in this school to be results-oriented. You are going to make us proud," the MEC told learners.

Executive Vice President in Human Resources and Stakeholder Relations at Sasol (a major sponsor of the school), Charlotte Mokoena said, "Sasol and the Gauteng Department of Education share a clear vision about the future we want to create for our children, and we are committed to creating an enabling environment for them to realise their fullest potential.

"We promise society wherever we operate, including in our home country of South Africa, that we will be a catalyst for positive change. The world is changing, and we need to keep abreast of the change," added Mokoena.

Each SoS offers a modernised & dynamic curriculum that specialises in one of the following fields:
- Sports
- Maths, Science & ICT
- Commerce & Entrepreneurship 
- Engineering
- Performing & Creative Arts

These schools aim to bridge the gap between Grade 12 and further education and employment, while leveraging partnerships to expand learner and teacher support. They also look to expand learning opportunities so that the impact on employment is visible in the country.

The province of Gauteng is divided into five economic corridors. SoS’s are strategically placed in these five economic corridors and municipalities, as they work towards that municipality's economic focus.

Here Are The Five Economic Corridors In Gauteng And Their Economic Focus

1.    Northern Corridor - located in Tshwane Municipality. Their economic focus relates to automotive research and innovation. SoS’s in this area provide a curriculum offering Mathematics Science and Technology as well as Technical and Engineering. 
2.    Central Corridor - located in the City of Johannesburg Municipality. Their economic focus is around Finance and Services. SoS’s in this area focus on a curriculum containing Commercial and Entrepreneurship as well as Performing and Creative Arts. 
3.    Western Corridor - located in the West Rand Municipality. Economic focus on Agro-processing, tourism and logistics. SoS’s in this area provide a curriculum offering Mathematics Science and Technology, Sport and Commercial and Entrepreneurship. 
4.    Southern Corridor - located in Sedibeng Municipality. Economic focus on Tourism and Entertainment, Agro-processing, logistics. SoS’s in this area provide a curriculum offering Performing and Creative Arts, Mathematics Science and Technology and Commercial and Entrepreneurship. 
5.    Eastern Corridor - located in Ekurhuleni. Economic focus on Manufacturing, transport and logistics. SoS’s in this area provide a curriculum offering Mathematics Science and Technology and Technical and Engineering. 
(Information courtesy of skillsportal.co.za)

John Orr Engineering School of Specialisation Social Media